Galapagos Only A Runner Up

On November 11th, the provisional results of the voting for the New7Wonders of Nature were released: included in the top 7 is the Amazon Rainforest, a pride and joy of the Ecuadorian people.

The Amazon Rainforest largely covers the Amazon River Basin with a region of 1.7 billion acres.

60% of the rainforest is contained in Brazil with the remainder spreading through Peru, Colombia, Venezuela, Bolivia, Guayana, Suriname, French Guiana, and of course, Ecuador.

Amazon: Dendrobates FrogEcuadorian Amazon: Blue ButterflyThe Amazon covers slightly less than half of Ecuador, although less than 5% of the population lives in this dense rainforest.

According to Conservation International, Ecuador has more biodiversity per square meter than any other nation, largely due to the rich biodiversity of the Amazon Rainforest and the Galapagos Islands.

Tourists visiting Ecuador are especially keen on visiting not only the Galapagos Islands but the Amazonia. Visitors typically stay in lodges in the jungle, interact with local tribal communities, and participate in excursions via canoes or hiking.

Amazon - EcuadorOne popular lodge that organizes in-depth excursions with guides and offers superb accommodations is La Selva Lodge.

This recently renovated institution offers a complete package for travelers visiting the Amazon Rainforest and are dedicated to showing off all the Ecuadorian rainforest has to offer.

They even offer discounts for passengers participating in Galapagos trips as well!

The Swiss-based New7Wonders Foundation launched voting for the New7Wonders of Nature in 2007.

The Amazon is the perfect extension to your Galapagos trip! Check out our trip add-ons to make the most of your time in Ecuador and South America. Contact one of our expert Trip Advisors and consider the Amazon as part of your Galapagos vacation!


The other natural wonders elected are: Halong Bay, Iguazu Falls, Jeju Island, Puerto Princesa Underground River, and Table Mountain.

Results are being reviewed and verified and the official New7Wonders of Nature will be announced in early 2012 at the Official Inauguration Ceremony.

Although the Galapagos Islands were originally nominated and in the running, they did not make the top 7 in the list.


About galapagosexpert

A free lance writer, diver, photographer and citizen of the world, based in the Galapagos Islands.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s